This is what we do…We cook

I’m very reticent to call myself a food blogger, but I do sometimes keep a blog and I mostly blog about what I’ve cooked or baked, so I suppose in some slackery universe I am a food blogger.

Today I checked in on a blog (here) I read regularly of someone who is a real world food blogger and I discovered she had suddenly lost her husband.  Her beautiful words to us in this worst of all times, was encouraging us to make a peanut butter pie (her husband’s favorite) and share it with those we love.

Life is fleeting, it flies by before we know it.  So often we put off the things we most love and cherish for another day.  I think “I’ll paint tomorrow, or I’ll see him next week”, I’m too busy with work and school, there isn’t time for the extras.  The possibilities are always there unraveling into the future like an intangible savings bond that we hope to cash one day.

Only sometimes that day doesn’t come.  You delay and delay so often that fate, or God or the universe intervenes and it is gone- forever out of grasp.

Time is precious, and so often we squander it caught up in the minutia of daily life. I know that’s “living life”, but I think we should do a better job of jam-packing our lives with what’s vital, cherishing the people we love and enjoying the things that fill us with joy.  Maybe that means a missed deadline or a messy kitchen, but I somehow doubt we’ll regret filling our lives with substance.

And so while I can’t comfort Jenny personally I can do what I love and share it with people who are important to me, like she asked.  And as I see my twitter feed fill up other food bloggers, cooks and just plain good folks are baking pies today, I see I’m not alone.  You see we can’t always fix everything, sometimes we can’t fix anything , but we can cook.

It’s what we do.

I made mini peanut butter pies, more love to spread around.

One thought on “This is what we do…We cook

  1. Amen. Amen. Beautifully said, my friend. I, too, recently lost someone; she had an epic battle with cancer. Sadly, it won. She was very young; only 29. But she had touched so many lives. I’m tearing up even now. So true though about life’s brevity, preciousness.

Leave a Reply

