Graduation Day

scan0465, originally uploaded by lclea.

This is me a few years ago getting my master’s degree. I remember the day was beautiful (the ceremony was outside), and I was pretty proud. I’m the first person in my immediate family to get my masters and I’ll be the only one to get my PhD. As someone smarter than me said, “my family works for a living”. But on this day, I felt great, showing off the hood. Recently my uncle on hearing that I was going back to college for the third time, said to my mom, “is this a good thing?” Yup, in more ways than I can say.

Tomorrow, I’m watching some of my students graduate. I’ve been teaching in an adult learning program where you can get your college degree by attending school at night. Man, these people work hard. It’ll be a great day. Hoping to cook a little the rest of the weekend. If I do, I’ll share!

PS HOLY MOLEY look at that hair!

Leave a Reply

