Free at last

IMG_0442, originally uploaded by lclea.

Well sort of. As of 2pm today, I completed the first year of my PhD program. How does it feel you may ask? Unexpectedly good.

Really really good. Now I’m not lounging all summer, I’m commuting 6 hours a week teaching in WI and working down in the cornfields of IL doing interviews, but with classes, I’m done. At least until the fall. Will I be writing any paper? No no papers. All the writing is done for now and it feels good.
Have you ever thought of getting a PhD? Well neither did I. If I had been asked when I was in high school if I would voluntarily go on to school beyond college, I would have slapped you and then laughed in your face. Well, that might me an overstatement, but I could never thought beyond my MSW that was the end of school for me, after all  I hated school.

Pause for dramatic irony
I do remember a prof. when I got my MSW encouraging us. He said he was at best, a “B ” student and was then working on his PhD. I paid very little attention. I just wanted the MSW and wanted to move I thought I would get licensed and do therapy with families. Life however intervened and people encouraged me to move on and do better. I was told I was wasting my talents and could do more. Now here I am working on my own PhD. One year down, 3 to go?
Right now, I feel like I am on summer break for the first time since high school. I’m going to enjoy it.

Right this second?  I’m enjoying a really great Kim Crawford Savingnon Blanc.  REALLY  NICE.  If you see it, buy it and sip it.  Welcome to summer!

Leave a Reply

